The Medical Association for Prevention of War has an active membership made up of health care professionals from a range of backgrounds. MAPW is in a unique position to offer expert medical commentators on numerous issues, including peace, nuclear issues, human rights and alternatives to nuclear technology.

  • Our spokespersons are listed below, with their special interests. Click on any of these for a more detailed personal profile.
  • Media releases are located in our resources section, together with many other types of resources. You can select a particular issue on any resources page.
  • Alternatively, use the issue menu (top left). Relevant resources and media spokespeople are listed at the bottom of each issue page.

Media Profiles

Name Position within MAPW Special areas of interest
Dr Peter Karamoskos Treasurer Health effects of radiation, including low level radiation; proliferation dangers of highly enriched uranium in nuclear medicine
Associate Professor Tilman Ruff Co-President, IPPNW Nuclear weapons, biological weapons, nuclear power and the links between civil and military nuclear industries. Iraq.
Dr Sue Wareham OAM Vice President and ACT Branch Coordinator Dr Wareham has a broad range of expertise. Her recent focus with MAPW has been on Australia's military strategy; and on the environmental costs of war. She is also an expert on the hazards of the nuclear industry.
Dr Margaret Beavis President Nuclear weapons, nuclear industry, environment, human costs of war
Dr Anne Noonan Vice President, and Co-Coordinator of MAPW in New South Wales The connection between human rights and health; conflict resolution in Australia and our region.
Professor Peter Underwood Vice President; Coordinator, Western Australia Branch Primary Health Care policy, practice, research and evaluation; international and community health; medical education and training; medical anthropology and social medicine; ecological and environmental public health; sustainable health systems.
Dr Daniele Viliunas National Secretary and Coordinator, Queensland Branch Dr Viliunas plays an active role in MAPW's international work with IPPNW
Dr Sally Attrill Coordinator, Tasmania Branch
Dr Jason Garrood Former Vice President, active SA member Nuclear weapons, landmines, renewable energy and nuclear power, and the psychological aspects of radiation exposure.
Professor Fred Mendelsohn Committee member, ICAN. Former Vice President and Branch Coordinator. Public health effects of war and preparation for war, both conventional and nuclear.
Dr Amanda Ruler National Vice-President & coordinator, South Australian Branch Amanda has long term interests in global sustainability, peace promotion, justice, human rights and the impact of war.
Ms Lynne Saville Co Coordinator, New South Wales Branch Abolition of nuclear weapons; sustainability and health.
Dr Rosalie Schultz Secretary, Northern Territory Branch Public health, international health and Aboriginal health
Dr Bill Williams Immediate Past President Nuclear weapons. uranium mining, nuclear waste, health effects of radiation, Aboriginal health, the roots of violence.