Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty

The Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (CTBTi) bans all nuclear weapon test explosions or any other nuclear explosion, establishes an extensive International Monitoring System, and allows for short-notice on-site inspections. It was opened for signature in 1996, but has not yet entered into force. Under the terms of the treaty, all forty-four countries with nuclear power plants must sign and ratify before it enters into force.

The precursor to the CTBTi was a Partial Test Ban Treaty (PTBT), developed in 1963. This Limited Test Ban Treaty banned all but underground nuclear explosions. As the name suggests, the CTBTi was developed to be more comprehensive than the partial test ban treaty, but has faced continued problems with key nations refusing to ratify, including the United States, China, Israel, India and Pakistan, all countries which have nuclear weapons.

The CTBTi has has been signed by 177 countries and ratified by 144. Of the 44 nuclear capable states whose ratification is essential for the entry into force of this treaty, 38 have ratified, but 3 haven't even signed it.  more...

Australia has signed the CTBTi. MAPW and IPPNWi continue to advocate for its entry into force. 

Essential reading: